Bonne AnnéeCarrée à tous !

Hé oui, une nouvelle année se termine. Elle fut bien sympa and nous vous remercions tous ( les artistes et les lecteurs ), pour en avoir fait un succés. Le prochain numéro est presque pret et sortira le 15 janvier. N’oubliez pas que vous pouvez nous envoyer vos travaux et que nous recherchons toujours des artistes en […]

En lire plus

Exhibition Be Square, SE Center for Photography

Voici quelques images de l’exposition Be Square au SE Center for Photography  dont notre éditeur Christophe Dillinger a fait la sélection.

En lire plus

SE Center for Photography

Notre merveilleux éditeur, Christophe Dililnger, a eu l’honneur de présider sur la sélection de l’exposition Be Square au South East Center for Photography de West Greenville, Greenville, South Carolina, USA. Les artistes finalistes sont Chris Bruner, Antonio Castilo, Barbara Dombach, William Earle, A. Paul Estabrook, Marita Gootee, Diane Hopkins Hughs, Joe Hoyle, Clay Jordan, Nadia Land-Greene, Dominic Lippillo, Pete McCutchen, […]

En lire plus

Holga est morte, vive Holga

Nous avons farfouillé Internet et nous sommes arrivés à la conclusion que oui, l’usine qui fabrique les appareils Holga a fermé. Nous vous invitons à nous envoyer vos clichés fait en utilisant cet appareil iconique, au vue d’un Numéro Spécial dédié au square en plastique. envoyez vos photos à contribute@squaremag.org tout de suite, là. Le format devra […]

En lire plus

(English) Artist in residence #6: Darren Withey

Notre résident du moment est Darren Withey, étudiant à Birmingham City University (BCU) , autour d’un projet basé sur la photographie expérimentale en chambre noire. Son travail fut publié Numéro 603. Vous pouvez jeter un oeil à son sketchbook (27 Mb pdf). Il a aussi tourné un court métrage  au format avi/xvid  qui montre comment une image est créée.

En lire plus

Le numéro 603 est sorti

Le numéro 603 est maintenant disponible, avec les travaux de A. Lambrovassilis, Patricia van de Camp, Maurizio Strippoli, Alexandre Bertin, Darren Withey, Agustin G. Garza, Nicolas Eliard, Katrin Koenning, Erin Malone et Nicolas Poizot. Vous pouvez télécharger le pdf ici (40Mb), ou sa version web (18Mb). Vous pouvez aussi le lire directement sur issuu.com

En lire plus

Artiste en résidence #5: Pauline Sauveur

Le travail de Pauline Sauveur, un documentaire intime sur le changement de genre d’une personne, fut publié dans le numéro 602. Nous vous présentons son sketchbook, relatant la progression conceptuelle et technique de la série. Deux versions sont disponibles: une version de moyenne résolution (3Mo), pour les utilisateurs de téléphones mobiles ou sous une connection lente, […]

En lire plus

Le numéro 602 est sorti

Le numéro 602 est disponible, avec les travaux de Mariano Biazzi Alcàntara, Patrick Morarescu, Karolin Klűppel, Joanne Betty Colon, Nobuyoshi Araki, Matt Pettigrew, Pauline Sauveur,  Tomas Januska, Nathan Wirth, Caroline Gaume. Vous pouvez le télécharger ici, ou le lire sur www.issuu.com

En lire plus

Square Gallery 2016

A cette époque en 214 nous avions commencé notre tournée d’expositions avec Birmingham et Rennes. En 2015, on a pris des vacances. Nous sommes en train de cogiter sur notre programme pour 2016, avec des visites en Grande Bretagne et en France, et d’autres activités. Alors restez à l’écoute…

En lire plus

LOOK/15

Nous serons présents pour LOOK/15, le festival de photographie de Liverpool, GB. Nous prendront part au Book Market, le dimanche 31 mars. Une scéance de signature avec Louis Quail est prévue à 14.00. Plus d’information sont dispopnibles via ces liens (en anglais uniquement) Look /15 Festival general / Book fair Le blog de Louis Quail

En lire plus

Happy SquareYear to all!

Yes, another year bites the dust. It’s been a fun one, and we thank you all (the readers and the artists), for having made it a great one. The next issue is getting ready for publication on January 15th. Don’t forget that you can send us your work at any time. Oh, and we are […]

Read More

SE Center for Photography show

Here are a few images of the SE Center for Photography Be Square exhibition that editor Christophe Dillinger juried.  

Read More

SE Center for Photography,

Our delightful editor Christophe Dililnger is honoured to have been the jury for the Be Square exhibition at the South East Center for Photography, based in West Greenville, Greenville, South Carolina, USA. The featured artists are Chris Bruner, Antonio Castilo, Barbara Dombach, William Earle, A. Paul Estabrook, Marita Gootee, Diane Hopkins Hughs, Joe Hoyle, Clay Jordan, Nadia Land-Greene, Dominic Lippillo, Pete McCutchen, […]

Read More

Holga is dead, long live Holga

We have been trawling the internet for news and apparently it is true: the factory that builds the iconic Holga camera is closing down. We’d like to invite you to send us your Holga shots for a Special issue dedicated to this wonderfully square plastic machine. Send your image to contribute@squaremag.org now. The format should be […]

Read More

Artist in residence #6: Darren Withey

Our current resident is Darren Withey, student at Birmingham City University (BCU), with a project focused on experimental darkroom techniques. His work was published in issue 603. Have a look at Darren’s sketchbook (27 Mb pdf file). He also created a short movie in avi/xvid format to show how a sample image is created.

Read More

Issue 603 is out

Issue 603 is now out. Featuring A. Lambrovassilis, Patricia van de Camp, Maurizio Strippoli, Alexandre Bertin, Darren Withey, Agustin G. Garza, Nicolas Eliard, Katrin Koenning, Erin Malone and Nicolas Poizot. You can download the pdf here (40Mb), or get the web version (18Mb). You can also read it via issuu.com

Read More

Artist in residence # 5: Pauline Sauveur

Pauline’s work, the intimate documenting of a person undergoing a sex change, was published in issue 602. Here is a digital copy of her sketchbook, showing the conceptual and technical progession of the series. Two versions are available: low resolution (3Mb) for phones and slow connection, or higher resolution (27Mb), for computer transfers.

Read More

Issue 602 is now out

Issue 602 is now out, featuring the work of Mariano Biazzi Alcàntara, Patrick Morarescu, Karolin Klűppel, Joanne Betty Colon, Nobuyoshi Araki, Matt Pettigrew, Pauline Sauveur,  Tomas Januska, Nathan Wirth, Caroline Gaume. You can download it here, or read it on www.issuu.com

Read More

Square Gallery 2016

At that time last year we had a show in Birmingham, followed by a great big exhibition in Rennes. In 2015 we took a year off. We are now starting the programming of the 2016 season and we’re thinking about venues in the UK and France again as well as other activities. So stay tunes […]

Read More

LOOK/15

Square Magazine will be present for the LOOK/15 photography festival in Liverpool, UK, on Sunday 31st of May, for the book fair. We’ll present the new fanzine and sell the world acclaimed SquareBook#2. A book signing session with Louis Quail is scheduled to take place on Sunday 31st of May, at The Blue Coat. Check […]

Read More